The Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society - Preserving the Past, Embracing the Present, Anticipating the Future
Wednesday, February 14, 2024
WHAT HAPPENED TO THE FIRST VILLAGE SCHOOL?
Wednesday, January 31, 2024
PORTER’S VILLAGE SCHOOL HOUSE SERVES A DIFFERENT PURPOSE IN TODAY’S WORLD
While visiting my
dentist recently, I was thinking back to when I attended school in that
building as a young child in 1943 – 1947.
Today it is the Ossipee River Dental office recently purchased by Dr. Christopher
Parent at 38 Main St., Porter. Although
it looks pretty much the same outside, it looks very different inside due to
the reconfiguration of the space as a dental office. Jan Iler,
PPHS Secretary
This building was built in 1889 as the Village School, replacing the original Village School building on School Street. It cost nearly $3,000 to build and the Porter Town Report boasted it was the best in Oxford County. It housed grades K (called Sub-primary) – 12 and continued as such until 1919 when overcrowding led to the building of Porter High School further down on Main Street. In 1946 an arrangement was made so that the Parsonsfield students who lived in Kezar Falls Village and the students from Porter shared schools. Grades K – 3 were housed in the Village School Building, then called “Porter Primary”, and 4 – 7 went to the Milliken School on Federal Road on the Parsonsfield side of Kezar Falls Village. Grade 8 students from Porter and Parsonsfield students that resided in the village went to Porter High School. By 1948 all the outlying schools in Porter were closed and students were transported to the village.
The
Village School c. 1905
The
Village School/Porter Primary c. 1940’s
The
Porter Primary school continued to be used until 1967 when the new Sacopee
Valley High School was built. At that
time the grammar school students were split up and relocated between the red
school house in So. Hiram, the old Porter High building and Milliken School
until 1986 when the South Hiram Elementary (now Sacopee Elementary) was built.
Porter
Primary School – c. 1950’s & 1960’s
For a while the old village school building was used as a warehouse/research lab for ITT, Vulcan Electric. It was purchased by Dr. J. Cons in 1985. He renovated it and established his dental office there. When Dr. Cons gave up his practice it became the Sacopee Valley Family Dentistry office which continued until 2023 when Dr. Parent purchased the practice and renamed it “Ossipee Valley Dental.
Dr.
Con’s Dental Office - 2001.
Sunday, January 14, 2024
THE WINTER OF 1969
This has been an unusual winter with little snow during the month of December. However, this was not the case in 1969. If you are over 54 you may remember that was the year New England experienced a severe winter storm that left Maine with snowfall amounts exceeding 20 inches in many places. This nor'easter was slow moving and became known as the 100 Hour Storm with the storm lasting for 3 days. According to NOAA the storm of 1969 had some very impressive snowfall totals. This storm was ranked Category 2 on the Regional Snowfall Index. Cities and towns were not prepared for the storm.
Transportation was almost at a complete halt for days and many streets were not plowed for a week. The Regional Snowfall Index rates the storm of 1969 with more snow than the devastating snowstorm of March 1993. This might surprise some people who live in Maine now who have never heard of this storm. While the February 1969, snowstorm is not as well-known as the March 1993 “Storm of the Century,” it affected many more people with heavy snow (greater than 30”) than any other storm since 1900. Normally, snowfall is measured in inches except at Mt Washington where the snow was measured in feet that year and received over 8 feet of snow. How did this storm affect our small towns? Here's the headline from the Portland Press Herald on March 6, 1969...
Snow Damage $100,000 at Kezar Falls Girls' Camp
In 1969 there were reports of towns in Maine receiving 30 inches of snow. Officials were broadcasting warnings to camp owners and summer residents of the possibility of roofs collapsing from the weight of heavy snow. That is exactly what happened when the roof of the main lodge at Camp Hiawatha located in the towns of Hiram and Porter collapsed. The main lodge housed the dining room, the kitchen and a recreational area. Musical instruments and athletic equipment were also stored there. The second floor had bedrooms, sewing and ironing rooms. The basement containing showers and a laundry room suffered little damage. The damage to the lodge was estimated at $100,000. David Crowley, resident of Hiram, remembers the roof collapse. He had come to Maine to help shovel the roof at Camp Robin Hood while his father went to Camp Hiawatha to oversee a crew shoveling off the buildings. They had started clearing the snow from one end of the building when they stopped for lunch. Suddenly while they were having lunch the lodge roof collapsed. The snow was about 4 feet deep and it was wet and heavy. At the time of the roof collapse the camp was owned and operated by Andrew Friedman and his two sons Major and Drew. The lodge was reconstructed and opened on time in the summer of 1969 with 100 girls registered for camp.
The Friedman’s had purchased Camp Hiawatha from Abraham Mandelstam who had established the camp in 1920. Mandy as he was known by friends and family was from New York City. He owned and operated two camps in Maine; Camp Hiawatha on Stanley Pond and Camp Wigwam in Harrison. The camp is now operated as the Maine Teen Camp, is coed and serves teenagers from the U.S. and around the world.
Above, the lodge building before the collapse in 1969 and then after.
Sunday, December 31, 2023
Happy New Year from Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society
2023 has been quite a year! We welcome 2024 with the hope that it will be a better one for everyone worldwide.
With this vintage New Year’s Day card from our collection
the Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society wishes a
HAPPY, HEALTHY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR to all of you!
History House is now closed for the season, but we still try
to answer requests for information.
See our website at – www.parsonsfieldporterhistorical.org
E-mail pphs@parsonsfieldporterhistorical.org
We look forward to seeing you in the spring of 2024.
Thursday, December 14, 2023
Thursday, November 30, 2023
THE SPOTLIGHT IS ON: Paul W. Stacy (1893 – 1987)
A lifelong resident of Porter, Maine, Paul Stacy was born April 1,1893 in Porter, son of Charles and Maude Watson Stacy. Paul graduated from Porter High School in 1908 and Bridgton Academy in 1911. He married Jessie Merrifield on Feb. 23,1914 and they made their home on Summer Street. They had 5 children. Unfortunately, three sons died before the age of 5. Their son, Dexter, survived but was bedridden all of his life and died at the age of 50 in 1965. Their one daughter, Pauline, married George Gehrs of Falmouth and they had four children.
Paul served on the local school board of directors for 26 consecutive years and was its chairman for 20 years. In 1917 he was elected town clerk of Porter and held the position for nine years, after which his wife Jessie served for more than 35 years.
In 1926, Mr. Stacy was elected to the Porter Board of Selectmen, serving until 1941. He was re-elected to the Select Board in 1959 and served through 1983 - a total of 39 years. One of the longest serving selectmen of the Town of Porter. He also served two terms (1938 – 1941) as a Republican member in the Maine House of Representatives.
Paul was a carpenter by trade and for 25 years he was foreman of the maintenance crew at the Kezar Falls Woolen Mill where he was in charge of many major construction projects.
Mr. Stacy was also active in several town organizations. He served as chief of the Kezar Falls Fire Department for many years. He was a member of the Saddleback Rod and Gun Club, a former member of the Knights of Pythias and the Costello Tribe No. 34 Improved Order of Red Men. He was also a charter member of the Parsonsfield Porter Historical Society. Jean Stanley remembers Mr. Stacy well and said, “Paul believed strongly in public service. He was gruff, opinionated, didn’t tolerate dissension, but he was also smart, with a dry sense of humor, and the well-being of Porter was center to his service.” Mrs. Stacy died in 1962 and Paul Stacy died at the age of 94 - Aug. 18, 1987. They are buried in the Kezar Falls Burial Grounds.
Tuesday, November 14, 2023
Part II NOVEMBER 11, 1918
The eleventh hour, on the eleventh day, of the eleventh month of 1918
The following are more pictures of WWI Veteran’s. These are but a few of those who served from Parsonsfield, Porter and South Hiram. We would appreciate copies of any that are missing. If you have pictures please let us know.
Kezar Falls, Maine American Legion
The American Legion Post at Kezar Falls Maine had been in existence for a few years by the time it received its permanent charter Oct. 25, 1929 – dated 1928. The post was named – The Carroll S. West Post, No. 123 in honor of Carroll S. West of Parsonsfield, the first soldier from this area to die in World War I. It was dedicated in memory of: Carroll West, Alfred Goodwin, George Gray, Ralph Mason, Ralph Libby, Howard MacDonald and Roscoe Durgin.
After World War II the name was changed to The West-Day Post to also honor Erwin L. Day of Porter, the first local soldier to die in World War II.
The American Legion now honors and represents American veterans from all wars. Unfortunately, there have been many.

.jpg)
.jpg)





.jpg)









