Friday, June 30, 2023

 Notice:

The Research Room at History House will be open 10 am – 12 pm on

July 10 and July 24 for anyone interested in using our resources to research

local history or genealogy. Park and enter in the rear of 92 Main St. Porter.

**********

IT IS TIME FOR OUR ANNUAL

YARD & BAKE SALE

AT HISTORY HOUSE

Have you been gathering items for a yard sale? Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society

could take them off your hands. Gently used items that you no longer need but think

others may find a use for would be appreciated. (Please no clothes or computers or

white goods.) They can be left on the porch at History House anytime through Friday,

July 14th.   Someone will be checking every day and move what is there inside. If you

need someone to pick up your items call 625-7019 or 625-8712 and leave a message.

We also look forward to you coming to buy items, too.

The Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society will hold their annual

YARD AND BAKED GOOD SALE –

SAT. JULY 15th, 9am – 1pm

at History House, 92 Main Street, Porter (Kezar Falls Village).

Rain or Shine.

Something for everyone. Come find your treasure!

FMI 625-7019 or 625-8712

Wednesday, June 14, 2023

  Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society

Invites you to a

Meeting and Program

Sat. June 17, 2023

Meeting - 2:00 pm, Program - about 2:30.

 Jess Davis will present:

“MAPPING HISTORIC HOMESITES & CEMETERIES.”

 Jess Davis is the president of the Brownfield Historical Society and has been restoring gravestones for twenty years.  She will discuss her efforts to research and map local historic sites, including cemeteries, stone walls, and cellar holes.  Jess will share stories from her experiences, as well as how others can use different types of maps (historic, topographic, LiDAR, GPS apps) to find and document sites on their own property.

Site of the Ezekiel Danforth homestead on Kennard Hill, Porter.

Location: History House

92 Main Street

Kezar Falls Village (Rt. 160)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please Note

The History House Research Room will be open again this season

Mondays from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. on the following dates:

7/10, 7/24, 8/14, & 8/28.

You are welcome to come see what we have to help you in your research of genealogy or local history. Park in the rear and come in the back entrance.

Wednesday, May 31, 2023

 Parsonsfield-Porter Historical Society

The 2023 season begins with a 

new exhibit and

OPEN HOUSE

Saturday, June 3, 2023,  1:00 – 4:00 p.m.

 

Come see the exhibit and learn about  

The Remarkable Life of

Rufus McIntire

Renowned past resident of Parsonsfield


Come tour the house and view all the exhibits.

History House

92 Main Street in

Kezar Falls Village (Rt. 160)

 We look forward to seeing you there.

 

Sunday, May 14, 2023

The Spotlight is on: Albion P. Benton 1816-1886

 Albion Benton was born in Denmark, Maine August 28, 1816, to Alfred and Sarah Benton. His biography in the 1888 Parsonsfield History is written in glowing terms as to his family background and his own character, parts of which are included here. 

“He was born to a grand New England family, celebrated for heroism, patriotism and uncommon intellectual endowments.”  His grandfather was a renowned doctor.  His father and four uncles all served in the War of 1812.  Two uncles became members of Congress, one of whom became a judge. His father, Alfred, settled in Denmark.


Albion was "reared amid scenes of hardship, toil and deprivation, incident to that early period.”  He “early developed those qualities of industry, economy, sagacity, and self-reliance that became such prominent characteristics in his long and useful career.  Inheriting nothing but his remarkable physical and mental powers, he was a self-made man; his quick, acute mind grasped, as if by intuition, the salient points of an enterprise, and obstacles that would have discouraged an ordinary man, were swept away by the might of his restless, resistless energy.  He was honorable and truthful in his dealings, courteous, but frank and straightforward, and the certainty that attended his words, deeds and principles became an important element in his character. Usefulness was the leading idea of his life, and his example and advice, based on ripe experience and good sense, were exceedingly valuable.”


Albion moved to Hiram and cleared land for a farm and in 1843 he married Sarah Wadsworth.  They had 10 children, eight of whom survived him. Sarah died December 13, 1875.  At the time she died they were living in Parsonsfield.  The census listed him as a farmer.


By the close of the Civil War (1861-1865)” the village of Kezar Falls was at a lethargic state, business was at a low ebb and the rising generation was moving to other places.  A syndicate of gentlemen purchased the old, dilapidated sawmill and its site (near the location of the future Kezar Falls Woolen Mill) and offered it to him if he would erect a new mill and settle in the town. He saw the golden opportunity, accepted the offer, and on October 20, 1865, the new sawmill was set in operation, inaugurating a new era” and better days for the community.


“In 1868 he bought the Thomas Edgecomb farm (on Elm Street just outside the village), which he greatly improved, erecting a fine and commodious stand of buildings.  On April 15, 1877, he married Mary S. Pillsbury of Parsonsfield.


Here Albion lived out his life "tenderly beloved by family and friends, to whom he was ever kind, loyal, and devoted, leaving them a legacy of a good example and a good name".  



Albion died December 11, 1886.  His wife Mary died March 28, 1910.  They are buried in the Kezar Falls Burial Grounds along with his first wife Sarah.  His son, Peleg W. Benton (1862-1937) ran a dairy farm here until 1923 at which time it was sold to Lawrence and Belle Stacey and it became the Elm Row Milk Farm.


In 1948 a modern bottling and pasteurization plant was installed, and milk was purchased from other farms to expand the business.  Elm Row Milk Farm continued to serve the community for many years. The property remains in the Stacey family today and has become home sites for several family members.  Recently the old house was taken down, although the barn remains. 


Thanks again to Jean Stanley. We have used much of her Tombstone Tuesday as inspiration and information for this post.

Sunday, April 30, 2023

The Spotlight is on Frederick “Fred” Erlon Hannaford (1906 – 1990)

 Fred Hannaford was born November 18, 1906, in Gorham, Maine, the son of Charles Byron Hannaford of Gorham and Harriett Jane “Hattie” Floyd of Gray, Maine.  He was one of 13 children, born and brought up on a farm.  In the 1920 census, his father is listed as engaged in “general farming”, and in 1930 is listed as a “humane officer”.  (Perhaps that had something to do with inspection of livestock or farm animals?)  

Fred worked for Barrows Greenhouse in Gorham from age 14.  In the 1930 census, he is listed as working in the greenhouse and living with his sister Carrie, who ran the greenhouse. 

In 1930, Fred married Helen Adelaide Usher of Standish, Maine.  Helen was the daughter of Frank Usher and Edith Hartford of Standish. 

In 1940, Fred was still living in Gorham and listed as a “laborer in a florist shop”. During WW II he worked in Portland on the liberty ships as a pipe fitter.  Fred used his experience working in greenhouses and florist shops when they relocated to South Hiram.  In 1948 they bought 105 acres that had been a dairy farm owned by Fred Libby.  (Mr. Libby had married a descendant of George Gould, the original builder of their house.)  There Fred and Helen started a florist business named Riverside Florist and they also grew strawberries and vegetables on the land where Sacopee Valley High School and part of Sacopee Valley Middle School are now located. The barn was moved back away from the house (to where it is now), to prevent it shading the greenhouses. By the 1950 census Fred was listed as living in South Hiram with his wife and three children, Reginald, Louise, and James. Their family grew to 13 grandchildren and many great grandchildren.

Jean Stanley relates, “His was an old fashioned wood and glass greenhouse.  The earthy, rich smell is always present in any greenhouse, but seemed tenfold in this one.  I remember going with my mom to get geraniums for Memorial Day.  It seems like there was a cat. There was a border collie for sure!    And of course, there was Fred.  He was warm and welcoming, and fun.  I looked forward to that annual visit.  Later, when we were old enough, we kids would walk down ourselves.  I remember buying daffodils for mom on Mother’s Day.  The price was right for a kid’s allowance.”

About 1976, the Hannafords sold the business.   The house was relocated a few yards away on the crest of the hill, leaving the greenhouse and ell behind, still as a working greenhouse.  There was a fire that destroyed the greenhouse a few years later. Eventually, Fred and Helen’s son Jim and wife Mary moved back to the family home.  They have placed a small greenhouse back on the property where the business was located, a true “coming home”.

Fred and Helen became welcomed members of the community. They belonged to Charter Oak Grange, Parsonsfield Porter Historical Society, and Riverside United Methodist Church.  Fred was a Mason and Kiwanian. (His fried bread was a fund raising staple for Kiwanis.)  Fred was co-chair of the Hiram’s Sesquicentennial committee in 1964. Fred and Helen made living in a small town a big experience.

Fred died July 6, 1990 at the age of 84.  Helen died in Feb. 1996.  They are buried in the Dows Corner Cemetery on Rt. 35 in Standish, Maine.
 

Thanks again to Jean Stanley for letting us use her Tombstone Tuesday                               story for most of our post today. 

 

Friday, April 14, 2023

The spotlight is on: Florence Garner Norton (1878 – 1971)

         Florence Norton was born in Hanover, ME on April 26, 1878, the daughter of Allen and Mary (Jordan) Garner.    She was one of 6 children – four of which lived to adulthood. Her family moved to Kezar Falls Village in Parsonsfield in 1881 when her father, Allen Garner came here to organize the Kezar Falls Woolen Company.  He was successful in that endeavor and went on to become an officer, stockholder and an owner of the mill. 

     Florence was educated locally and graduated from Parsonsfield Seminary in 1905. On Dec. 2, 1919 she married William T. Norton.  Marrying late in life, (both in their 40’s) they had no children.  Florence and William shared a love for music. She had studied the piano and gave piano lessons for many years. William was known for his singing. They lived in her parent’s former home on Elm Street.  William died tragically in 1932 leaving her a widow for 49 years.  


    But Florence, who was affectionately known as “Aunt Flossie” to those who knew her, lived a full life.  She was fond of children and was always doing something for them.  She enjoyed playing “Santa Claus” especially with those who might have less than others.  She enjoyed keeping track of birthdays and often sent gifts and cards.  Scouts and other groups often held meetings at the family’s bungalow on Garner Island behind her home.  At one time Porter High School graduates were given a small gift from Flossie in recognition of their completing high school. 

          Florence was a very active member of the Riverside United Methodist Church where she taught Sunday school.  She was a trustee for over 40 years and organist there until 1938. She was a member of the Ladies Afternoon Guild and the Women’s Society for Christian Service. She was also an active member of the Ladies Magazine Reading Club and was its president for 27 years.  She served as secretary of the Kezar Falls Circulating Library for 35 years.  And Florence was a Charter Member of the Parsonsfield Porter Historical Society. 

        In 1967 she fell and broke her hip.  As she was confined to a wheelchair, she closed her home on Elm Street and entered Gorham Manor Nursing Home and lived there for the last four years of her life.  Florence passed away on May 8, 1971, at age 93 and is buried next to her husband in the Kezar Falls Burial Ground in Porter.


Friday, March 31, 2023

The Spotlight is on WILLIAM T. NORTON 1873 - 1932

He then went to Kezar Falls where he and Sidney B. Stanley bought the former S.P. Fox Store next to the “Stanley Block” (bank building near the bridge) and sold grain and groceries. About 1910 they took that building down and built the “Norton Block” in its place; one of the larger buildings in Kezar Falls Village. The “Norton Block” building was occupied by the post office and grocery store on the first floor and Norton Hall and later Carl Hammond’s Jewelry Shop on the second floor. (The building was destroyed by fire in 1970.) Will eventually sold that business, purchased the Sutton Edgecomb hardware building across the street and continued the Norton Hardware business until his death.

 William T. Norton was born in Porter, Maine April 19, 1873, the son of Appleton and Ursula (Taylor) Norton.  He was educated in Porter Schools and at Parsonsfield Seminary.  Because of his father’s ill health, he remained at home to help with the family farm for several years. 


On December 2, 1919, he married Florence Garner who was the daughter of Allen Garner, an owner of the Kezar Falls Woolen Mill.  They resided at her parent’s former home on Elm Street.  They had no children.


William was well known and active in the community.  He was Treasurer of eight different funds and organizations including the Town of Parsonsfield.  He was also Trustee, Treasurer, Steward and Choir Leader in the Riverside United Methodist Church.


William died suddenly on October 18, 1932, at a Kiwanis Club meeting. He was leading the singing – his favorite avocation - singing strongly and keeping time to the music with his arms when he suffered a cerebral hemorrhage and died. 


A memorial stained-glass window is located in the choir loft at the Methodist church just beside where he usually sat.  He and his wife, Florence, are buried at the Kezar Falls Burial Grounds in Porter.


Far left - Newbegin Cigar Shop, large middle building - the Stanley Block and the newer Norton Block on the right – circa 1912.